Two Sides of the Same Coin

If there’s something that most people believe in, in this day and age, is God. But why are there so many different ways to believe? I believe what The Bible’s scriptures advise me. Nowhere in The Bible does it say that we, as a community, are to be feared, loathed and hated with such fierceness, that it makes me want to stop being a Christian! My version of choice: the King James Version (KJV).

We are all God’s Children! Created equally. Breathed life into equally. Given intelligence, imagination and insight equally! So where do you so-called “Good Christians” get off telling the world “God hates Gays!”?

I believe that if more Bible-thumpers and Anti-Gay Christians would actually read the KJV of the Bible and comprehend those scriptures, they would not be bashing us with they’re hateful rhetoric. And why is it always GAY and not LESBIAN?

I found a video, posted to my Facebook wall, that is very poignant. Here’s the link. “The Truth about Homosexuality” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUnAFWvXKLE

I am a transgender MtF and have been hiding as a man for many many years. I am also Lesbian. I know this to be true. I am one of many who struggle with my existence everyday, as I cannot find work locally. I don’t really know who

As human beings, upon Planet Earth, we are all a part of a Global Community. These rights should be *granted* to all of mankind, including all women everywhere, to allow free expression, the allowance for marriage, and to be treated as equals no matter where we go.

I do not condone this kind of behavior when I go to church. I don’t feel comfortable when people look upon me with judgement and disgust when I dress appropriately for me, and attend church when I go. For me, this is unacceptable and unhealthy, to be judged without my saying a word, but only by how I dress.

We are at the crossroads of equality, as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was when he had spoken his “I have a Dream” speech. We are truly being persecuted for who we are and what we believe in. Why can we not have equal rights? Why are we looked upon with disgust, disdain and hatred?

There is no Homosexuality Bug! We are not stricken with Cooties! HIV and AIDS are in the world, but not because of Homosexuals, but because of animals and scientists. It has come to us through the mishandling of bodily fluids from infected animals, and not through gay sex. Laws and policies were instituted to help protect people from mishandling bodily fluids, and those are still in effect, moreso now then ever.

The idea is that we’re all good people, Christian or not. Two sides of the same coin; heads and tails. There should be tolerance and acceptance of our differences, not fear- and hate-mongering. This kind of behavior should be stopped. It’s a form of bullying, and bullying, in all of it’s forms, must be stopped. We live in, what I call, Special Times! By believing in what we believe, and knowing what we know, we should all come to the conclusion that we are all a part of something wonderful.

Fear is what these people are trying to pander with their propaganda. Stand up against it. Become and ally to someone you know who is different, regardless of illness, religion or sexual preference/identity, and help her to achieve all she can be!

The question that sticks with me, even now: “Can’t we all just get along?”

4 thoughts on “Two Sides of the Same Coin

  1. geographer70 says:

    Some people feel the need to exert power in whatever way they can: and by focusing hatred on those who are different, they become more effective. The church should be about love and acceptance, as Jesus taught.

    • omtgf says:

      I agree geographer70, I agree. It’s not like we, as a whole, are some kind of plague, something based on a contagion, spreading like wildfire, consuming everything in our path– quite the opposite– it’s all about One Love. The late Bob Marley wrote about it in song, The Bible is full of “love not hate” stories, and these people cannot even abide by “love thy neighbor …”. It makes me think they need more love in their lives to cleanse the hatred from their souls.

  2. Yes, of course we all can get along, we have always been able to get along. The problem is that most people don’t seem to want to get along and there is nothing we, who do want to get along, can do about it because that’s their choice, except maybe lock them behind an electric fence and wait for them to die, just like the NC preacher thought should be done with all the LGBT people of the planet, It is unfortunate that the “bible-thumpers” can’t seem to get that the source of the universe, however one conceives it to be, gave us the free choice to be happy as we want or be otherwise. I have chosen “Yes to happiness, regardless of what other people may want for me otherwise. The “bible thumpers” can’t do a “damn” thing about that either.
    May happiness and peace be with you, as it is for me, because I said so.

    • I forgot to mention that the Greek government is already doing what the preacher suggested, locking up its citizenry behind fences for any bad reason. The already have locked up rift raft the undesirable foreigners, the LGB’s and the T’s are next, if they haven’t been already. If they keep doing it at the pace they are going, pretty soon there will be no one else left to lock up.

Leave a Reply

